Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Auto Statutes by State

Author: Chris Boggs

State laws vary regarding auto policies, personal and commercial. Each state prescribes its own minimum limits and other required coverages. Some states require Uninsured Motorist (UM) and some states require Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM). Is it a Personal Injury Protection state (aka, No-Fault); or are you allowed to exclude a driver? This information is contained below. Click here to downnload this information as a PDF document.

StateStatuteMinimum LimitsUM RequiredUIM RequiredPIPDriver Exclusion
Alabama

Chaps. 32-7 / 32-7A

Compulsory

25/50/25   

Yes

Court

Alaska

AS 28.20 and 22

Financial Responsibility

50/100/25   

Yes

28.20.440

Arizona

Title 28 Chapter 9

Financial Responsibility

15/30/10   

Yes

28-4009

Arkansas

27.2.22

Compulsory

25/50/25  Yes

Yes

27.2.22.101

California

Vehicle Code / Div. 7

Financial Responsibility

15/30/5

(10/20/30 low cost)

   

Yes

INS 11580.1

Colorado

Title 42

Article 7

Financial Responsibility

25/50/15   

Yes

10.4.630

Connecticut

Sec. 14-246-112

38a-700

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25
or CSL $75,000
(01/01/18)
YesYes 

Yes

338a - 335

Delaware

Title 21 Chapter 29 2902

Financial Responsibility

25/50/10

  Yes

Yes

18-3904, 3909

Florida

Title XXIII Chap. 324

Financial Responsibility

10/20/10  Yes

Yes

Court

Georgia

Title 40 Chapter 9

Title 33 Chapter 7

Compulsory

25/50/25   

Yes

Court

Hawaii

Title 17 Chapter 287

Title 24 Chapter 431

Financial Responsibility

20/40/10  Yes 
Idaho

Title 49 Chaps. 1 and 12

Financial Responsibility

25/50/15   

Yes

41-2510

Illinois

Title 625 Chapter 5

Sub-Chapter 7

Title 215 Chapter 5

Financial Responsibility

20/50/20YesYes 

Yes

215 ILCS 5/143.01

Indiana

Title 9 Article 25 Chapter 4

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25
   

Yes

27-1-13-7

Iowa

Title VIII Subtitle 2 Chapter 321A

Financial Responsibility

20/40/15   

Yes

Title XIII 515D.4

Kansas

Chapter 40 Article 31 40-3107

Compulsory

25/50/25
Yes Yes 
Kentucky

Title XXV Chapter 304 Subtitle 39

Compulsory

25/50/25

  Yes

Yes

304.39-045

Louisiana

Title 32 Chapter 900

Financial Responsibility

15/30/25   

Yes

32.900

Maine

Title 29A Chapter 13

Financial Responsibility

50/100/25

$2K Med Pay required

YesYes 

Yes

24-A.2916-B

Maryland

Transportation Title 17

Compulsory

30/60/15YesYesYes

Yes

INS 27-609

Massachusetts

Part I Title XIV Chapter 90 Section 1A

Financial Responsibility

20/40/5YesYesYes

Yes

Court

Michigan

Chapter 257 Act 300

Financial Responsibility

20/40/10  Yes

Yes

Sec. 500.3009

Minnesota

Chapter 65B - 49

Compulsory

30/60/10YesYesYes 
Mississippi

Title 63 Chapter 15

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25   

Yes (Lic. Suspended)

83-11-3

Missouri

Title XIX Chapter 303

Compulsory

25/50/10Yes  

Yes

303.190

Montana

Title 61 Chapter 6

Financial Responsibility

25/50/20   

Yes

61-6-301

Nebraska

Chapter 60 Sections 346, 3,167, and 3,168)

Compulsory

25/50/25YesYes 

Yes

Court

Nevada

Title 43 Chapter 485

Compulsory

25/50/20
   

Yes

57 - 687B.147

New Hampshire

Title 21 Chapter 264

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25

Med Pay required

Yes Optional 
New Jersey

Title 39 Section 39-6A

Compulsory

15/30/5 (10/10/5 option)YesYesYes

Yes

17:28-8

New Mexico

Chapter 66 Article 5

Financial Responsibility

25/50/10   

Yes

66-5-222

New York

VAT Title 3 Article 7

ISC Article 34

Financial Responsibility

25/50/10

(50/100 wrongful death)

Yes Yes 
North Carolina

NCGS 20-279

Financial Responsibility

30/60/25YesYes  
North Dakota

Title 39 Article 16.1

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25YesYesYes

Yes

26.1-40-16

Ohio

Title 45 Chapter 4509

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25   

Yes

3937.30

Oklahoma

Title 47 Chapter 7

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25   

Yes

47-7-324

Oregon

Vol. 17 Chapter 806

Compulsory

25/50/20YesYesYes

Yes

Vol 16 742.450

Pennsylvania

Title 75 Chapter 17

Financial Responsibility

15/30/5  Yes

Yes

75.1718

Rhode Island

Title 31 Chapter 31-32

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25

$75,000 CSL Allowed

    
South Carolina

SCGS 56-9

38-77-140

Compulsory

25/50/25Yes  

Yes

38-77-340

South Dakota

Title 32 Chapter 35

Financial Responsibility

25/50/25YesYesOptional

Yes

58-11-9.3

Tennessee

Title 55 Chapter 12

Financial Responsibility

25/50/15

$60,000 CSL Allowed

   

Yes

Court

Texas

Transportation Code; Title 7; Chapter 601

Financial Responsibility

30/60/25  Optional

Yes

5.C.551.104

Utah

Title 41 Article 12a

Title 31A Article 22

Financial Responsibility

25/65/15

$80,000 CSL Allowed

  Yes

Yes

31A-22-302.5

Vermont

Title 23 Chapter 11

Financial Responsibility

25/50/10YesYes  
Virginia

Title 46.2 Chapter 3 Articles 15 & 17

Financial Responsibility

25/50/20YesYesOptional 
Washington

RCW 46.30

Financial Responsibility

25/50/10  Optional

Yes

Not disallowed

West Virginia

Chapter 17D Article 4

Compulsory

25/50/25Yes  

Yes

33-6-31

Wisconsin

"Vehicles" Title 344

Compulsory

25/50/10YesYesOptional 
Wyoming

Title 31 Chapter 9 Art. 4

Financial Responsibility

25/50/20   

Yes

26-35-105

Washington DC

Division VII Title 50 Chapter 13

Division V Title 31 Chapter 24

Compulsory

25/50/10Yes Optional

Yes

31-2402


Compulsory
  No option other than purchasing an insurance policy or, in some states, being a qualified self-insurer.

Financial Responsibility  Proof of Financial Responsibility can be in the form of an auto liability insurance policy, an indemnity bond issued by a licensed surety, or by depositing a specified amount of money with the state.

Driver Exclusion: This information applies to liability coverage only. Several states allow the exclusion of drivers from certain physical damage coverage. Review each statute for specifics. Statute shown if such exclusion is specifically allowed by statute. If such grant is the result of a court case, the word "Court" is used. Unique limitations may apply when such exclusion is granted by a court case.

  • Statutory allowance of the Driver Exclusion applies to only personal auto policies in some states; these include (but may not be limited to): Kentucky, Maine, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, and Utah.

First published: February 17, 2017

Updated: April 12, 2018

 

Updated: March 28, 2019


 

image 
​127 South Peyton Street
Alexandria VA 22314
​phone: 800.221.7917
fax: 703.683.7556
email: info@iiaba.net

Follow Us!

Empowering Trusted Choice®
Independent Insurance Agents.​